Dear world,

29 Jul

what have you come to?

Responding to apparent fan interest, Alan Ball and the rest of the True Blood gang will market “Tru Blood.”

Tru Blood (courtesy of NYDN)

Tru Blood (courtesy of NYDN)

Says the news:

The blood-orange carbonated drink has a slightly tart and lightly sweet flavor that is sure to taste better than the O negative blood consumed by the show’s fictional vampires.

Okay okay this is cute. I see the appeal. But:

  • It is selling at $16 for a pack of four. Seriously? Soda for four dollars a bottle??? During a recession? Yeesh.
  • People have already preordered! This is being treated like a long-awaited book or movie (the release date is September.)

And yes, I am a True Blood fan myself. But I think this is a bit too much, even for a program that thrives on being too much.

One Response to “Dear world,”

  1. Elizabeth July 29, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

    This grosses me out. To the max.

    1. Why the f is it carbonated? Blood should never be carbonated.

    2. I DON’T WANT TO FEEL LIKE I’M DRINKING BLOOD EW!

    3. Maybe that’s why it’s carbonated.

Leave a comment