You know that feeling…

22 Jul

when you have something you urgently need to do, but you just stall and stall and stall? Not because the task itself is so hard, but because you’ve stalled a bit because of laziness—and after that first bit, you’re done. Fallen off the cliff of procrastination. Because from here, the edge, this thing to do looms so large overhead that it feels far more daunting than it should be. There is nothing wrong, or overly taxing about this task. But you’ve pushed it off and it suddenly seems impossible. Then you push it off some more. It still needs to be done. But. You just can’t get going. Sitting with a computer, you keep doing other things and avoid opening the document–at all costs. Because after a certain point, that discomfort of having pushed something off (perhaps that stems from the notion that, hey, why would I push something off if it were not bad to begin with?) seems like a failure in itself. So what’s the point?

Anyway. That’s where I am right now.

One Response to “You know that feeling…”

  1. xxhawkeyexx July 22, 2009 at 4:56 am #

    It’s happening to me too…and I’m not proud…right at this very moment I should keep writing a project I haven’t work with for a couple of days, but I get distracted with everything.
    I know I’ve been writing a little bit more than a week ago, when I wrote nothing at all, since I continued yesterday and wrote about a thousand words, but still…I’ve been dawdling too much.
    I recommend you open that document and start writing! It’s hard at the beginning, but, once you commence, you can’t stop!
    Take care,
    http://xxhawkeyexx.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

