Fireworks, stakeouts, St. Louis

6 Jul

Weekends have a peculiar quality. Even though I work Sundays, my week somehow resolutely starts on Monday. Hm.

The night of the 4th was nice. As we drove into the city, different fireworks shows cascaded around us—on land, sea, etc. Beautiful (and loud—I am so so so scared of loud noises). Failure of the evening: I left On Beauty somewhere. I was about 70 pages into it and this is a problem. I wasn’t loving it, more like enjoying it. And wanting more of it.

Today was also my first News stakeout. Thank goodness for the nice weather and lovely location. It doesn’t get much better than that. Afterwards, I went to a family barbeque in New Rochelle. I saw many relatives and lost several flesh battles to mosquitos. Time to pile on the calamine lotion.

(Conversation from the BBQ: There was also a family who was friends with my aunt. A seven-year-old boy went up to me and said, “you want to hear something funny? I was watching family guy and a student had a crush on his teacher!”
Me, playing along: Ha, that is funny.
Kid: You know what’s funnier? After he told her about his crush, she suggested that he kill her husband! *bursts out laughing*
Me: … That is NOT funny)

Also, check this out. Not only is it a great example of an interactive newspaper graphic, but it showcases a landmark I unfortunately missed last summer in St. Louis. Look at all that art. I wish I could go back!
:

One Response to “Fireworks, stakeouts, St. Louis”

  1. mk July 6, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    I have a copy of On Beauty, which I will leave at the top of the staircase in Spec (right in front of the door to the roof) today. Having too many books ftw.

Leave a Reply

